Expanding the target demographic?

I was watching TV while having lunch, not paying too much attention to what was on, when a new (or at least new to me) Tide laundry detergent commercial came on. As far as concepts for commercials about laundry detergent go, it doesn’t seem like there’s much variance. This one used the “Gosh, my kid is so messy and gets stains all the time on his/her clothes. Good thing I use Tide!” – idea, one that I”m sure many are familiar with.

Except something was…different, about this commercial, and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it at first. But then I realized the parent in this commercial…

…was the father. A laundry detergent commercial with the parent-taking-care-of-messy-child, except the parent was not the woman; it was the man.

Usually it’s always been the mother featured in these commercials, am I not wrong?The nurturer, the homemaker, the mother – that’s usually the market audience for these products, and the target demographic the advertisers have in mind, right? So I’m curious as to why they decided that the father would be featured instead of the mother.

Personally I think it’s great. There’s no need to stereotype gender roles in the home – men should be just as capable of doing laundry as women. Men can be the nurturers in the home at times, too. Why can’t the man be the stay-at-home dad?

Awesome, awesome all around.

*Okay, a quick google search reveals this commercial has been airing since last November or so, but hey, I just now saw it, and it’s still awesome.

**And another edit: apparently the commercial that’s been airing since last fall-ish has two meanings depending on whether you see the short or long version. The short version heralds the stay at home dad, but the long version continues with the father going on about calling himself a dad-mom and stressing how he still does manly things (pullups, or whatever the commercial uses). Basically, men can do laundry, but it’s still women’s work.

Well, that’s not very cool. But the commercial I saw seemed to really make the dad more genuine and nurturing; it wasn’t the early commercial.

Leave a Reply

