l’appel du vide

~French. Translates literally as “call of the void” – the urge some people get to jump from high places whem they encounter them.

Though I’d like to think it more applicable than that scenario, such as the aweing realization of how in control you have over your mortality, say, like while driving on a busy interstate. Not necessarily suicidal, but just that feeling of “I could totally veer my car off into the ditch/into oncoming traffic. But I won’t.”

…no? Just me? Alright then.

Leave a Reply

