Biker’s High?

I went for a bike ride today. I went alone, so I was really able to push myself and up my RPM through the route I’ve been taking here at home. The last two miles or so go through a small neighborhood with a series of decent hills. It’s the end of the ride, and I push myself to sprint-climb the last stretch, and by the time I got home…

I. Felt. Amazing. 

I don’t think I’ve ever experienced any kind of exercise “high” before. Or at least none that I can recall. I had chills and I was shivering, but that was probably from the cooled sweat on my skin and my muscles wearing down from exertion. But it was just such an overall euphoric feeling. I can think of one other thing that gives me this sensation, and let’s just say…it’s more of a “grown-up activity.” (Visualize me using air quotes).

I am definitely gonna try to keep up with biking. Endorphins. Gotta love ’em.

Leave a Reply

